Walk a mile in my shoes

I’ve always loved shoes – most women in the western world do.  They’re a luxurious indulgence for sure.

But I do have a problem with people who wear the wrong shoes, or as I have come to term it, in appropriate footwear.  I know it sounds fuddy duddy, but our feet are really important.  And as we get older, they are even more so.  In Audrey Niffenegger’s wondrous novel, The Time Traveller’s Wife, the wheels start to fall off for the time travelling Henry once his feet become so damaged by landing in different time zones, completely stark naked.  Sometimes, he finds himself in the snow, or in the woods, and he usually has to get up and run quickly before he is found, because he is inappropriately dressed (ie, naked). But his feet cop the most damage, and his risks increase significantly as his feet deteriorate.

Over the years I have become more and more puzzled by people who wear thongs in the snow, or high heeled mules on bushwalking tracks, or earth sandals to fancy weddings.  It’s just wrong.  I once saw a woman teetering down the Bright Angel Trail at the Grand Canyon National Park.  It’s described as a “… maintained dirt track.  Steep.  Well defined.” Well defined or not, wearing heels on a dirt track is stupid.  What was she thinking? “I’ll just pop down this major walking trail for a few miles.” And what was the guy with her thinking?  “It’ll be ok.  I can walk a couple of miles down here with her hanging on to me?”  I don’t think so.  But they were a fair way from the car park.

I am thinking of starting a website where shots of people in inappropriate footwear can be shared. Get your smartphones ready.

Leave a Reply

